New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Enrico de Martinis
Enrico de Martinis

which case are you using ?

4 hours ago
Crash Lander
Crash Lander

this is Apple still wanting you to buy an iPad PLUS a laptop. Simple... simple greed.

9 hours ago
Noble Obodum
Noble Obodum

Wait...the iPad Mini works with the 1st gen Apple pencil?!?!? How did I not know about this?!?!?

14 hours ago
Manuel Perez
Manuel Perez

No f that love to DJcity

18 hours ago
Chrisbeckus
Chrisbeckus

Does anyone know the brand of the shirt he is wearing?

22 hours ago
nguyon knight
nguyon knight

It doesn’t even amaze me anymore that they haven’t made the “pro” to support flash drive. I’ve tried to imagine it replacing my MacBook Pro...but sadly can not

Day ago
harenk
harenk

Excellent point made here. Apple can make the worlds most power computer but their “walled garden” approach is the ultimate road block for many consumers. It’s the very reason I switched to the Microsoft Surface Go for my duel purpose tablet-computer. What a shame...

Day ago
hellsohot x
hellsohot x

Apple needs to re-enginner the iOS and MacOS to be more adaptive and versatile. They keep thinking they "invented" a lot of things by shoving things that the OS wasn't able to do before into it. Unless they want to take the downfall of being in their own bubbles for eternity, which is most likely.

Day ago
Ralf Strauch
Ralf Strauch

Good review 👍 Besides i'd expect growing features with iOS13. Finally this new iPad Pro is just f*** overpriced but a gorgeous piece though...

Day ago
varun gupta
varun gupta

Please do one for tab s4, since it has an oled display it will be interesting to see how it stacks up

Day ago
MouOu
MouOu

screw it i am ditching my laptop and going to the ipad bc of the multitask lol edit: i changed iphone to laptop

Day ago
νικος γιώργος
νικος γιώργος

If you touch it it will bend!

Day ago
p1xelp
p1xelp

The iPad Pro has a serious problem playing audio. I have two of these and they both 'click' when playing audio files.

Day ago
D. Brown
D. Brown

honestly IMO i really think buying an ipad is a pretty silly purchase, if you already have an iphone and a macbook, theres no point to an ipad. The only thing apple should do is finally combine mac os and a ipad like device instead of a giant iphone os 🤔

Day ago
Aqua Purificotta
Aqua Purificotta

in my honest opinion I think it depends on what you're doing. if you're just the average consumer (web browsing, emails, media consumption, etc) this sounds great...but you could still do all that for way, _way_ cheaper. if you're the kind of person who draws, sure! i can see how this would be great for someone who uses apps like procreate or Photoshop (support for that is coming in 2019 tho) or is just used to iOS but still needs something to get their work done. still though, i do think you could do it for cheaper, like last year's Pro, but I digress. if you're the person who say, uses heavier applications, or someone who isn't really familiar with the cloud or the limitations of iOS, then personally I don't think this could replace your laptop. It low-key feels like an accessory to a laptop/desktop, or a souped up iPhone X. basically what I'm trying to say is that this thing is great, I love it, it just doesn't seem to be something that could replace your main computer, mostly 'cause the OS is lacking. it's nice iPad, but...it's still an iPad.

2 days ago
Jousboxx
Jousboxx

"swipe up to go home" "swipe up a little bit more to open the app launcher" "swipe up just a little bit to open the dock" jee whiz this seems like a reliable system that would be very difficult to make mistakes on

2 days ago
Karl Rühl
Karl Rühl

It’s bends like a paper and it breaks like a paper - Jerry rig

2 days ago
chelsea
chelsea

I have the first ever iPad Mini and I’ve been looking for a replacement for a while now. Would you recommend buying the new iPad Pro? Is it worth the money or should I just buy a laptop

2 days ago
Amos Batto
Amos Batto

It totally depends on what you want to do with the device. If you just want a tablet and you don't mind the high price, then this might be worth it. If you want a laptop replacement, then this probably will disappoint you, but it depends on how you use your laptop. Note: I don't buy Apple products due to the price and their promotion of planned obsolescence, but my experience with the Galaxy Note 10.1 is that I constantly run into limitations with the software, where it can't replace my laptop, and this review says that same thing happens with the iPad Pro.

7 hours ago
CARS 3
CARS 3

iOS 13 wishlist Split screen multi tasking on the iPhone Having Window on the iPad Locking individual apps Clear all option in multitasking Camera settings in the camera app Make Siri smarter + faster Moving apps in the home screen Convine contacts + Imessage + facetime Weather + calculator app on iPad Allow NFC to thirp parties Naming Bluetooth devices Turning flash on and of when recording Movingwallpapers support for external harddrives on ipad Support for flash drives on iPad Support for Googles VP9 video codex A version of finalcut Pro for iPad

2 days ago
The Grinch
The Grinch

you can already toggle low power mode, dark mode and others in control centre... you just need to customise what's on it in settings lol

2 days ago
Atul Kaushik
Atul Kaushik

what's the use of USB -C port, when you cannot use it for it's full potential, also, There is no file management system, etc.. etc..., for these shortcomings, this hardware is overkill...may be iOS 13 will be able to address , what Apple is intentially restricting at the moment....good hardware though....

2 days ago
sultanabran1
sultanabran1

short answer before you even watch the video? no, it can't. because it's still an ipad, same as the previous model. it might look different but it still works the same.

2 days ago
Mk ._. queen22
Mk ._. queen22

Nah it will never defeat the microsoft surface pro 🙂

2 days ago
Dan Galman
Dan Galman

Great content! This is definitely one of the most articulate reviews you guys have done! Thank you, The Verge!

2 days ago
Another gamer
Another gamer

Here I am typing my comment using the Samsung Galaxy tab s4 running full linux thanks to Dextop. Sorry apple but for me it is NO!

2 days ago
Alan Hughes
Alan Hughes

Awesome new speakers, but what good do they do when it is basically impossible to listen to music on iOS. As soon as you do something else, it automatically pauses the music. Awesome new song, want to open that mp3 in the music app? Sorry. Want to view a website? Let us compulsive redirect you to some mobile version or to the app store. Want to click on a text box? Let us arbitrarily scroll the page a little bit to confuse you and make you forget what you were going to type or so can't read the message you are replying to. Want to indent a paragraph? Sorry we removed that button. Want to do anything at all? Nope, we tell you what to do.

2 days ago
its sareX
its sareX

Simple answer: No.

2 days ago
xXIllGetYouXx
xXIllGetYouXx

Can it replace your laptop? Hell no.

2 days ago
M. Louis Photography
M. Louis Photography

THANK YOU FOR AN HONEST REVIEW! Someday over the rainbow Apple my wake up and let users REALLY leverage their gear. Again, thanks!

3 days ago
SAFUVAN ZAF
SAFUVAN ZAF

This review made me subscribe you 😀 ❤️

3 days ago
Krill Siluroid
Krill Siluroid

IPads were never meant to replace your MacBook or laptop Apple wants you to buy both. That's why there are always seems to be something holding back each iteration.

3 days ago
Bryan Ferrer
Bryan Ferrer

Not all usb-c dongle supports daisy chain ... Also , flashdrive and external hdd should work if there is a usb-c adapter with power source

3 days ago
Javeria Zulfqar
Javeria Zulfqar

i dont think apple is trying to replace laptops with this ipad because they're trying to sell the entire ecosystem ((iphone, mac, ipad). i doubt it'll ever be able to replace a laptop entirely simply because apple wants to push macbook sales too.

3 days ago
Chino Designs NYC.com
Chino Designs NYC.com

I just purchased it, FYI guys remember Photoshop will have a version in 2019...can't wait!!

3 days ago
Alden Clarke
Alden Clarke

You're trying to force your dated laptop ways onto the iPad Pro. Remember, we've been doing our Mac laptop thing since the 90s. This is a paradigm shift in how a computer fits into life. Evolve or go extinct!

3 days ago
robotechfans
robotechfans

"it's more expensive than my laptop" "I should love it....."

3 days ago
Tracee Lopez
Tracee Lopez

It’s like you’re really really trying to find every bad thing. Lol Overall, pretty decent review :p

3 days ago
Nathanael Hoffman
Nathanael Hoffman

This guy low key annoys me lol

3 days ago
Cristiano Maestro
Cristiano Maestro

Really. Could on my laptop Fortnite runs 1 FPS on my tablet 30

3 days ago
KWAN Francis
KWAN Francis

Cannot tell how much I agree with the critic from the Verge about the new iPad Pro in 2018. In 2018 when apple is showing off how powerful the new generation iPad Pro could be , apple at the same time shipping the by-product that how obvious the limitations of an iPad (or iOS) are . With all these amazingly powerful hardware in the new iPad Pro 2018, it's the first time we see the iOS is holding the hardware back from reaching its full potential while forcing consumers to pay the bills for the hardware. All of these marketing doesn't make sense at all when we're talking about an iPad more expensive than a capable laptop computer. Eventually, if you're paying a price as much as for a powerful laptop , you're demanding for getting serious things done efficiently , rather than appearing to be aesthetically cool casually. Lastly, Well, having no real file/folder management capability in such mature iOS is really an immature behavior .

4 days ago
JON Gergeceff
JON Gergeceff

Awesome review Mr Patel

4 days ago
Sonia
Sonia

I LOOVE MY I PAD PRO 2018

4 days ago
Declan Sharp
Declan Sharp

Lol better then apples laptops i7 cpus hahaha apple is straight garabage for what you pay for. People waste so much money its funny af

4 days ago
Dilan Stubbins
Dilan Stubbins

For a college student who just uses this for notes, writing essays and basic use is this fine or should one get a MacBook Pro?

4 days ago
Phanitej Kanchu
Phanitej Kanchu

$2200 for tablet! , no thank you.

4 days ago
Biggie Phil
Biggie Phil

I wish Apple would install Mac OS on the iPad Pros.

4 days ago
hotmojo1
hotmojo1

I use the fan. What more do you need?

4 days ago
Thayer Vahan
Thayer Vahan

I wish to use this iPad pro for school work and drawing. Would this be good for school work such as, Google classroom, Google docs, Google slides, etc?

4 days ago
Chris Lynch
Chris Lynch

I’d wait for the pro 2020 before buying into this. Kudos costs..

4 days ago
Rafael Freitas
Rafael Freitas

Mossberg certainly disagrees.

4 days ago
Muneeb Chaudhry
Muneeb Chaudhry

I have the previous gen 12.9 inch iPad Pro, and I love it for what it is. However, I agree with everything you said in this review. If you know what you’re using it for and its limits - its a great machine. I’m a student, and for me its a paperless option for note taking with apps like Notability. And I have the added convenience of having a computer for pretty much anything I need. I’ve used a laptop for school work, and it’s nowhere near as engaging and versatile for note-taking in lectures. That being said - the iPad can’t be a computer for people that need a full computer and full-strength programs... Maybe someday, but it’s not there yet.

4 days ago
Eric Pellegrini
Eric Pellegrini

A reviewer who thinks a GeekBench means an iPad is as fast as a laptop. Not impressed.

5 days ago
Encanto India
Encanto India

I am planning to buy a new portable device. I am confused between Surface Pro and this iPad pro. Budget is not an issue. Can all you people please help me decide. Till now I have been using Samsung Tab s3, iPad 3 and HP x360. HP is basically a laptop but its small and i can use it as a tab though heavy.

5 days ago
Amos Batto
Amos Batto

If you want a full laptop replacement, you are better off with the Surface Pro as long as you use the normal version of Windows, at least that is what I gather from the reviews. By the way, Linux runs nicely on the Surface Pro, which is the deciding factor for me, although it might not be for you.

6 hours ago
SlowRide
SlowRide

I don't want iOS at that price. At that price just give it OSX. then and on;y then will it truly replace a laptop.

5 days ago
Cult Snarez
Cult Snarez

Pro DJ gear works with Surface Pro 6. Just saying....

5 days ago
Grady White
Grady White

You said Adobe wrote a Siri app that imports photos from the camera roll into Lightroom CC and then automatically deletes the imported photos from the camera roll. What is it called and ow do I get this app? I cannot find it anywhere.

5 days ago
R Snr
R Snr

I’ve felt that dockand app switcher gesture has been difficult for quite some time.

5 days ago
Angelo V.
Angelo V.

Nice review overall. Despite being critical of the iPad Pro, I’ll still, probably get one compared to the new MacBook Air. I mainly use my computer to type documents, to create slides using google drive and to surf the web for news and entertainment like a normal tablet. It can probably replace my laptop, especially when Apple fixes the Files feature. The one thing that I heard no one talk about at all is the iPad Pro’s future proofness. The A12X chip is so powerful that it could probably handle future iOS updates for the next decade at most. Overtime, Apple will develop iOS to be more optimized with more iPad specific apps and third party apps that take advantage of the A12X. So if I do buy one as a laptop replacement, I should be fine based on what I need for now. However, if I do need more pro apps later down the road, the iPad will probably have those apps by the time I need them. Either way, I think it’s a good purchase for me.

5 days ago
Mainak Roy
Mainak Roy

Damn

5 days ago
Taylor Albaugh
Taylor Albaugh

Omg just bring MacOS to the iPad Pro dear lord so many people want this!

5 days ago
icephoenix88
icephoenix88

The next iteration will have the full OS. Next thing you know everyone will be rallying behind apple saying they are so innovative & changing the game - _-. Until they actually do something signicant I'll stary away.

5 days ago
Theodore Yamada-Dessert
Theodore Yamada-Dessert

*"Yet"* or *"...for now"* should be included after every one of his complaints. People forget that this thing can improve greatly fast. For this reason, I found this video slightly misleading, but for the most part I really liked this product review.

5 days ago
Gerhard Wunderler
Gerhard Wunderler

Excellent review... you really nailed it! Was a big Apple fan years ago, but they lost me with this stupid compatibility issues like not playing Googles 4K vids, not allowing my 1st gen. MacPro to run an OS beyond Lion even though it is capable of etc...

5 days ago
TheLouis9720
TheLouis9720

I’ve got an 800€ bonus to spend in electronic shopping for the school but I’m actually in doubt between the new IPad Pro , the old MacBook Air or the base model of the MacBook Pro. What would you suggest to me ? Consider I have a mid 2012 MacBook Air 11” which fits a lot with my daily use (web browsing normal stuff ), the most important thing for me it’s MATLAB using, that is not still available for iPad . Thank you for your attention.

5 days ago
# TooMuchScotty
# TooMuchScotty

The pen being magnetic should’ve been on the first iPad pro. Why don’t they make a iPad Pro that can do everything a laptop can do, the tech is already in there hands but they don’t because they will put those features in the next iPad pro

6 days ago
Kaito Hamada
Kaito Hamada

Hooold up! iPad Mini from late 2018? What's that? And it shouldn't be the iPad he placed next to the iPad Pro 2018 the scene after he said that...

6 days ago
Sean Mather
Sean Mather

Apple can do hardware so well.... they really need to focus on software and compatibility. The walled garden is no longer useful in keeping people in the apple ecosystem, it’s keeping the company from growing bigger. If it more seamlessly fit in with my other devices then it would be great, but right now my phone and iPad feel like they’re on their own little island. At this point I think 3 things need to happen. One is apple needs to go all in on it’s own chips, as clearly it can take full advantage of it. Secondly they need to bake in great x86 compatibly into OS X once they move to be all A series processors. Finally OS X needs to be on every pro machine and optimized for touch, while iOS should be the non pro system.

6 days ago
corsegerspwnd
corsegerspwnd

No

6 days ago
Art Online
Art Online

Thanks! Welcome to my channel!)

6 days ago
Arya1999
Arya1999

No proper keyboard, no replacement. If you're a touch typer who has to type all day, chicklet keys are a frigging nightmare. I've had to buy a gaming machine.

6 days ago
thinlycuta4paper no lastname
thinlycuta4paper no lastname

With osx yes

6 days ago
gene978
gene978

Not a fan of the Price of the pencil after using a normal Stylus from Dollar Tree waiting for the pencil to come in. The new Pencil cannot open HOME SCREEN of Shift side to side to the next Application. The Keyboard Bores me to pieces and $200 is outrageous for this No frills Keyboard with No Home Button or short cuts and Can’t full protect the device when closed. I was hoping Logitech or someone else had something out for this 12.9 Pro so I can bring back this horrible plain keyboard. The IPad is nice but miss the Touch sensitive home button for unlocking and it’s features. I still have my other IPAD PRO that is still like NEW condition and I am asking myself do I need this new one? The screen is beautiful and the depth is amazing but not $1200 worth.

6 days ago
Aegon Aram
Aegon Aram

I would rather a yoga C930

6 days ago
jujuju222333444
jujuju222333444

conclusion: im not buying one. btw, GREAT REVIEW! : )

6 days ago
Jega Surian
Jega Surian

i can use headphone adapter for 3.5mm jack cable? and we can export photos , videos & some files to memorycard using card reader?

6 days ago
Phil
Phil

Love iOS as a mobile OS but this is like strapping a Ferrari engine on a horse.

6 days ago
Tijmen Brozius
Tijmen Brozius

I only have the last version of the 12,9 version to draw in Photoshop - on my Mac. I use the Astropad app to do that, it does a great job of turning the iPad Pro into a graphics tablet. I did this to avoid having to buy an expensive Wacom Cintiq. So for that it works. I absolutely hate the roadblocks mentioned in the video, and use an android phone - I would never use iOS daily.

6 days ago
Orelion
Orelion

"I don't want to adapt to my computer..." But that's the entire mantra of Apple in all long their products...

6 days ago
sdq sdq
sdq sdq

Folding screen is the future

6 days ago
AbdulMajid H Jaffar Ali
AbdulMajid H Jaffar Ali

Then what is the best unit that replaces your laptop?

6 days ago
Axel Fischer
Axel Fischer

I can’t use Rosetta Stone on this beautiful but USELESS IPAD without a FLASHDRIVE!!!!

6 days ago
Axel Fischer
Axel Fischer

Apple get it together!!!! I want a IPAD that REPLACES A COMPUTER!!!!!

6 days ago
Kalid Dueck
Kalid Dueck

IT IS NOT A COMPUTER REPLACEMENT!!!! Why is everyone bringing this up in their reviews. The iPad was never meant to be a computer replacement.

6 days ago
Shivamrinder Kapoor
Shivamrinder Kapoor

This review was soooooooooooooooo good

6 days ago
micah
micah

love the honesty

6 days ago
Stephen Andrews
Stephen  Andrews

If I live for another 50 years maybe I could save up for it !!!

6 days ago
Alex
Alex

Have you tried Y Disk flash Drive? It has a free app. I'm using it with iPad 2017. I have a the 125GB Flash Drive.

6 days ago
Paul M
Paul M

One note: the old Apple Pencil could be charged with lightning chargers using a tiny adapter that comes with the unit. (which was really easy to lose) I always ended up charging it the 'goofy' way by sticking it into the port so it looked like an old bluetooth antenna

6 days ago
Paul M
Paul M

Haha "it should make my heart flutter." I wish I could get that excited about tech. Maybe if someone gives it to me for free :D

6 days ago
David Bowen
David Bowen

Best tech review I've watched/read in a long time. Same frustrations with iOS!

7 days ago
Joe Monsanto
Joe Monsanto

I have been an iPad fan for years, but with this version, they've lost me. I can't justify spending $1,500 for something that won't truly replace my laptop. I have business apps which I simply can't run on an iPad. As it is, I was using my iPad mostly to RDP to a windows desktop.

7 days ago
David Builes
David Builes

Thanks for the review. Very informative and upfront :D

7 days ago
Mike O'Connor
Mike O'Connor

The ipad is not supposed to replace a computer. its a tablet not a computer and will always be that.

7 days ago
RunningFromAdults
RunningFromAdults

Too much greed. Not enough innovation.

7 days ago
karotofel
karotofel

Give me that exact thing but with macOS and I will throw all the money at apple. Ppl say that for years now but apple is just laughing at this

7 days ago
Robin Offringa
Robin Offringa

It could..... If it had mouse support....

7 days ago
Chris Earl
Chris Earl

One of my biggest leaves is try to type, and not having mouse support. Sometime selecting text, or correcting spelling errors is a massive pain even when using the pencil

6 days ago
DiamerladGamer
DiamerladGamer

Am I the only one who believes that they stole the "program on Tablet" thing from Microsoft, The Attachtable keyboard from them too?

7 days ago
Marek Sławiński
Marek Sławiński

I think next year iOS 13 will bring much needed software features to iPad. Right now software is two steps behind hardware.

7 days ago
Flash Thunder
Flash Thunder

cheap HP printer did not work? what?! I would expect it to work in the first place!

7 days ago
NAD T
NAD T

No and too expensive

7 days ago
iforce2d
iforce2d

12:10 lol I thought I heard him say $2200 for a minute there :D ohhhh.....

7 days ago

Next videos